X

Principal

Nordonia Middle School
Building Photo2018916143139984_image.jpg
73 Leonard Avenue
Northfield, OH 44067
Phone: 330.467.0584
Attendance: 330-908-6160
Safe School Hotline: 330.908.6166
8:00 AM – 2:55 PM

Welcome to Nordonia Middle School

Dear Nordonia Parents, Students, and Community Members,

Welcome to Nordonia Middle School!  Our purpose is to bring in your student, from the Elementary level, and provide them with the academic and social tools to leave us prepared for High School success!  Our fantastic Certified and Classified staff members are second to none, and welcome our approximately 600 students each day.  Students receive instruction through their four Core Content areas (Language Arts, Math, Science, and Social Studies), and two Elective courses, as well as an Intervention and Enrichment period.   Involvement in Clubs, Co-Curricular, and Extracurricular activities helps ensure our students are well rounded, and prepared to meet life’s challenges head on.  It is our goal for every student to have the best experience, and make the most growth possible.  We look forward to getting to know you and your student, and encourage you to take an active role during their Middle School Years.  Once again, welcome to Nordonia Middle School, we appreciate your continued support, and…..Go Knights!

Sincerely,

Bryan M. Seward

Principal, Nordonia Middle School

 

Instruction

Instructionally, Nordonia Middle School, like all Nordonia Schools, engage the Professional Learning Community (PLC) process.  PLC’s are made up of grade level, content area teachers, and are designed to allow teachers to analyze and utilize student data in efforts to guide instruction.  This ongoing collaboration between teachers helps ensure that every student is provided the same level of rigor in each subject area, across all teams.  The primary goal of each PLC is to increase student achievement, provide intervention and enrichment opportunities, and ensure that every student leaving Nordonia Middle School has the academic foundation to be successful at Nordonia High School.  We will make every effort to meet each student at their instructional level, and, through high quality instruction, intervention, and enrichment strategies, provide each student with the tools to reach their full academic potential.

Teaming Process

During your time at Nordonia Middle School you will be a part of one of our five academic teams. Through the Teaming process, students share the same four Core Content area teachers, the goal of which is to allow for faster communication and problem solving during the Middle School years.  Each team is meant to foster students’ academic, social and emotional development as well as efficient communication with families.  

Extracurricular/Co-Curricular

Nordonia Middle School offers a wide variety of extracurricular and co-curricular offerings. Athletically, students have the opportunity to participate in a variety of interscholastic sports, competing in the Suburban League.  In the Fall, students have the opportunity to participate in Cross Country, Football, and Volleyball.  The Winter Sports Season offers Boys and Girls Basketball, as well as Wrestling, while Boys and Girls Track is offered in the Spring.  Co-Curricular offerings of Band and Choir allow our musically inclined students to not only learn skills in the classroom, but the opportunity to show them off through concert participation.  Nordonia Middle School also offers many clubs and activities including, G.I.R.L.S. Club, Interact Club, Media Club, Power of the Pen, Science Olympiad, Spelling Bee, School Musical, Student Council, and Yearbook.  All of our offerings are designed toward the development of our young people through leadership, collaboration, and teamwork.

Communication

Open communication between home and school is vital to our students’ success, and key to resolving any issues that might occur.  If you have any questions or concerns please contact us:

Administrative Assistants

Patti Belli                                              patti.belli@nordoniaschools.org

Celeste Olenik                                     celeste.olenik@nordoniaschools.org

Attendance Line                                  330-908-6160

Main Office Phone                              330-467-0584

Team Leaders

Shauna Ault, Gatekeper (7)                shauna.ault@nordoniaschools.org

Jan Tylicki, Vortex (7)                           jan.tylicki@nordoniaschools.org

Lauren Rupprecht, Viper (7/8)            lauren.rupprecht@nordoniaschools.org
Bryan Rudowsky, Viper (7/8)              bryan.rudowsky@nordoniaschools.org
Anne Berardinelli, Cyclone (8)            anne.berardinelli@nordoniaschools.org
TBA, Thunder (8)           

School Counselors

Rachel Vitale, Grade 7                         rachel.vitale@nordoniaschools.org           

Theresa Bonick, Grade 8                    theresa.bonick@nordoniaschools.org

Administration

Bryan Seward, Principal                      bryan.seward@nordoniaschools.org     

Shon Smith, Associate Principal        shon.smith@nordoniaschools.org

View text-based website